La Rosière and ecology

The Environmental Observatory lists and studies the fauna, flora and fragile habitats present on the ski area.  
This observatory allows the Domaine Skiable de la Rosière (DSR) to better understand the ecology of this specific environment and make it a central issue within the resort’s management.

Since 2014, the DSR has had its own Environmental Observatory and has worked on this subject in partnership with environmental consultants EPODE. Other stakeholders, such as the Vanoise National Park, ACCA de Montvalezan, OGM (Observatoire des Galliformes de Montagne), Montvalezan Community of Communes, etc. are invited to join the discussions so that we can resolve any issues together.

In 2020, €20,000 was invested in this Environmental Observatory.

Within the framework of this observatory, the DSR has listed all of the species present on the ski area and has implemented a number of protective measures, both for mountain flora and fauna. Below, you will see just a few examples of the plants and animals that we strive to protect when carrying out landscaping work and during the winter season.  

image

What do we protect?

The common frog - Rana temporaria

To prevent the machinery from disturbing and killing common frogs, the DSR places amphibian fencing around the wetlands located near any work sites.

Moorland clouded yellow butterfly - Colias palaeno

The moorland clouded yellow is a butterfly that loves bilberry bushes. It is an endangered species in France but is well established in the Haute-Tarentaise. The observatory pays special attention to these butterflies in La Rosière’s ski area, particularly when the slopes are being landscaped.

image

Black grouse - Tetrao tetrix

With regard to afforestation in mountainous areas, the current trend is to allow the natural vegetation to become denser, thus increasing the amount of fallow land and forest. But this has a negative impact on the insect population, and insects are the main food source for black grouse chicks. The DSR cuts this undergrowth back in order to prevent the habitat from becoming too dense and thus enable the black grouse to feed their young. 

 

image

Avifauna

In 2018/2019, the work on the Mont Valaisan was complete and a project to monitor the population of nesting birds was set up to analyse the frequency of these different species.

image

What flower species are we preserving?

The various inventories highlighted a wealth of plants and many different varieties depending on the habitats. They are characteristic of subalpine to alpine areas where the abiotic conditions (temperature, wind, soil, sunshine, snow, etc.) are harsh. In La Rosière’s ski area, three protected species have been found:

 

Alpine clubmoss - Diphasisastrum alpinum

The largest population of Alpine clubmoss is found in the Tarentaise. This species is fully protected in France. 
In order to preserve it as much as possible, a specific operation was rolled out before the work on the Mont Valaisan began. It involved removing and transplanting the topsoil and plants from the area and was carried out in several stages: 

1.  Before the process began, we had to check that Alpine clubmoss was indeed growing on and around the Mont Valaisan site.
2.  Once the species had been identified, these areas were marked out. 
3.  We then found “recipient” sites for replanting.
4.  The extraction and replanting process could then begin: first we removed the clumps of earth that contained clubmoss, including its roots, then replanted them in the recipient sites.

Thanks to this process, the species has been protected and is able to reproduce.

Piedmont primula - Primula pedemontana

Alpine rock-jasmine - Androsace Alpina

What ecological habitats do we protect?

ALL OF THEM! Especially the wetlands 

Wetlands have an essential role to play in biodiversity, by protecting our water sources and also for economic and recreational purposes, which is why they must be preserved. They are transitional spaces, mid-way between land and water, and are a valuable biological and functional resource. The ski area contains a large number of wetlands, which have been identified and listed by the Savoie region’s Conservatory of Natural Heritage (CPNS) and the environmental observatory. These areas can be identified thanks to the herbaceous flora that grows in these humid areas and their hydromorphic soil (water present all year round).

Les enjeux écologiques de La Rosière

L’Observatoire Environnemental permet de référencer la faune, la flore et les milieux sensibles du domaine skiable en réalisant des inventaires et des diagnostics d’espèces et de milieux.
A l'échelle du Domaine Skiable de La Rosière, cet observatoire lui permet de mieux comprendre son milieu écologique et ainsi, baser sa gestion environnementale au-cœur de la gestion de la station.

Depuis 2014, le Domaine Skiable de La Rosière possède donc son propre Observatoire Evironnemental et travaille sur le sujet en partenariat avec le bureau d’études en environnement, EPODE. D’autres acteurs, comme le Parc National de la Vanoise, l’ACCA de Montvalezan, l’OGM (Observatoire des Galliformes de Montagne), la Communauté de Communes du Montvalezan… prennent part aux discussions pour avancer conjointement sur les problématiques soulevées.
Pour l’année 2020, ce sont 20 000€ qui sont investis dans cet Observatoire Environnemental.

Dans le cadre de cet observatoire, le Domaine Skiable de La Rosière a fait l'inventaire des espèces présentes sur son sol et a ainsi pris un certain nombre de mesures de protection, tant au niveau de la faune que de la flore de montagne. Ci-dessous, quelques exemples d'animaux et de plantes faisant l'objet de mesures de protection spécifiques durant les différents travaux d'aménagement du domaine et lors des périodes hivernales.

image

Qui protégeons-nous ?

Les grenouilles rousses - Rana temporaria
 

Pour éviter la perturbation et l’écrasement des espèces de grenouilles rousses par les engins de travaux, le Domaine Skiable de La Rosière a installé des barrières à amphibiens sur les zones humides à proximité des secteurs de travaux.

image

Les solitaires - Colias palaeno
 

Le solitaire est un papillon de jour très frillant des myrtilles. C'est une espèce menacée à l'échelle nationale mais très bien implantée en Haute-Tarentaise. Il fait partie d'un suivi particulier de l'observatoire sur le domaine skiable de La Rosière, notamment lors des projets d'aménagement du domaine.

image

Les tétras-lyre - Tetrao tetrix

Concernant le boisement des zones de montagne, la tendance actuelle est à la fermeture naturelle du milieu avec l aprogression des friches et de la forêt. Cette dernière influe négativement sur l’abondance d’insectes. Or, les insectes sont la nourriture principale des poussins de tétras-lyre. Le Domaine Skiable de La Rosière a alors mis en œuvre des opérations de débroussaillage afin d’éviter la fermeture naturelle du milieu et aussi de permettre aux tétras-lyre de nourrir leurs poussins.  

 

image

L'avifaune


En 2018/2019, les travaux du Mont-Valaisan se sont achevés et un suivi d’abondance des populations d’oiseaux nicheurs a alors été mis en place afin d’analyser les indices de présence des espèces.

 

image

Quelles espèces florales préservons-nous ?

Les différents inventaires font ressortir une richesse spécifique très importante et des cortèges d'espèces diversifiés selon les habitats. Elles sont caractérisées des zones subalpines à alpines où les conditions abiotiques (températures, vent, sol, ensoleillement, neige...) sont difficiles. Sur le domaine skiable de la Rosière, 3 espèces protégées sont recensées à savoir :

 

Le lycopode des Alpes - Diphasisastrum alpinum
 

Les plus belles populations de lycopode sont en Tarentaise. Cette espèce est intégralement protégée en France. 
Afin de la préserver au mieux, une opération spécifique a été mise en œuvre avant les travaux d’extension du Mont-Valaisan : il s’agit de la technique de l’étrépage. Elle se déroule selon plusieurs étapes : 

1.  Avant de commencer le processus d’étrépage, nous avons dû vérifier la présence du lycopode aux abords du chantier du Mont-Valaisan.
2.  Une fois l’espèce identifiée nous avons balisé le périmètre. 
3.  Nous avons par la suite trouvé des sites « receveurs ». 
4.  L’étrépage a alors pu commencer : il s’agissait d’enlever les mottes de terre contenant le lycopode ainsi que son appareil racinaire puis de le replanter dans les sites receveurs. 
Par ce procédé, l’espèce a été protégée et est amenée à se reproduire.

 

La Primevère du Piémont - Primula pedemontana

L'Androsace des Alpes - Androsace Alpina

Quels milieux écologiques préservons-nous ?

TOUS ! et en particulier les zones humides 

Les zones humides présentent des fonctions essentielles pour la biodiversité, la protection de notre ressource en eau mais également pour l'usage économiques et récréatifs impliquant une necessité de préservation. C'est une espace de transition entre la terre et l'eau qui constitue une véritable richesse biologique et fonctionnelle. Un grand nombre de zones humides est répertorié sur le domaine skiable par le Conservatoire du Patrimoine Naturel de la Savoie (CPNS) et l'observatoire environnemental. L'identification de ces zones est possible par la flore herbacée inféodée aux milieux humides et l'hydromorphie du sol (présence d'eau toute l'année).